With the QLD Finals coming up our pageant savvy sisters of the north are bringing it on and declaring all out war to the Western Divas.  With a name like Madeline Elizabeth Taylor, this girl means business and she has her gorgeous eyes set well and truly on the crown.

Madeline Elizabeth Taylor, 20

Background: I was born in Sydney and have lived all of my life in the Gold Coast Hinterland.

What is your motivation in joining this competition?

I believe Miss Universe Australia will provide opportunities to broaden my horizons, meet influential people and grow into a more confident woman. I also hope that it will help me to develop the qualities of dedication, patience and self-belief.

What do you know about Miss Universe Australia?

Miss Universe Australia gives girls a chance to gain confidence in themselves, pursue their dreams and to reach for the stars. It also helps to instill girls with strong community and charitable values through engaging in positive societal activities at a local, national and international level.

Are pageants still relevant in this day and age?

Pageants are relevant and continue to grow on a global level. I believe they are timeless in presenting fantastic opportunities for young girls to actively pursue a journey of self discovery and for countries to promote and showcase a wonderful role model that embodies the traits and culture of that country.

Apart from the crown, what do you hope to gain from this experience?

As mentioned previously, I hope to gain self- confidence and to meet influential and admirable new people. If I am fortunate enough to represent my state or country, I hope to promote Queensland and Australia with pride and to continue to dedicate myself as an ambassador for the RSPCA.

Who are your role models?

I am inspired by all successful, strong, intelligent and beautiful women who lead the world and who work tirelessly to give back to the community. Princess Diana is a prime example and an important role model of mine because of her endless philanthropic work. Her actions highlight her qualities of generosity, dedication and selflessness, which I truly admire.

Tell me something interesting about yourself?
I have a strong passion towards animals and am an avid animal documentary viewer. I am currently an educational speaker for the RSPCA and teach young school children about the importance of animal safety and animal welfare. This role also allows me to meet and take care of new wonderful animals all the time!

What kind of preparations have you gone through to prepare yourself for the competition?

I love being fit and healthy and have been working hard on my nutrition and physical fitness. I am also currently taking an Australian politics class as part of my Law Degree to expand my knowledge of Australian current affairs on a domestic and international scale.

