I first saw this girl’s candid shot and I couldn’t take my eyes off her.  Maybe it’s her height, maybe it’s her luscious lips or her soulful eyes, maybe it’s her romantic nostalgic name but there’s something about Larna and there’s DEFINITELY something in the water in WA!

Image

Larna Puddy, 19, Public Relations Student and Intern at Socialite Media

I was born and raised in Perth, WA. I have a love for the amazing beaches that Australia is blessed with and exploring the wonders that the world has to give. I completed TEE at school and now I’m currently studying at university.
 
What is your motivation in joining this competition?
I have watched Miss Universe since I was a little girl and I have always been fascinated by the gorgeous women up on stage. I have always admired the confidence that all the girls have and I wanted this for myself. I thought registering for Miss Universe Australia would come with amazing opportunities, including making some amazing friends, building confidence and having the chance to learn, which it has.
 
What do you know about Miss Universe Australia?
Not only does Miss Universe Australia give an amazing opportunity to the girls involved but also gives back to the community by raising funds for charities including children’s charity ToyBox International. 

Are pageants still relevant in this day and age?
Yes, I think adult pageants are relevant today. A lot of people don’t understand the positives that come from these pageants, but there are many.  A lot of younger girls look up to the women in these pageants, and it is important to have good role models for children. The women in these pageants are healthy, happy, confident and have a voice, these are the women that girls should be looking up to. 

Apart from the crown, what do you hope to gain from this experience?
I hope to gain long lasting friendships and guidance to grow and be the best I can be. I have already gained so much from this, my confidence has increased a lot in only a couple of months, which I think just goes to show how beneficial this pageant is. 

Who are your role models?
Firstly my grandmother, she is such an amazing woman. She has been through some hard times and yet I have never met anyone more friendly, happy and willing to give a hand. She always puts other people before herself, and always has a beautiful and contagious smile on her face. 
I admire Jane Goodall for creating a strong and passionate voice towards what she believes in. She has such a huge passion for protecting the Chimpanzees and her work is extremely inspiring. 
I also admire Olivia Newton-John for her strength in being able to stay positive and pull through breast cancer. She is also heavily involved with helping people who are fighting cancer and works closely with the Olivia Newton-John Cancer & Wellness Centre. 

Tell me something interesting about yourself.
I’m a very adventurous person. I love exploring new things, to both learn and ease my curiosity.  

What kind of preparations have you undergone for the competition?
The Miss Universe WA Preliminary offers fantastic preparations for the competition. I have attended various workshops about nutrition, hair and make-up which have all been very helpful. I have also been getting active, boxing twice a week and also attending regular Pilates sessions which has been very beneficial and I am feeling great. 

