Tags

, ,

Over to NSW and we present to you a young lady who has been given the nickname by famed photographer Kent Johnson, “Baby Jen” for her similarities to J-Hawk!  Historically Jen lookalikes have never performed well at Nationals but we are sure Carly will break this streak and be quite the competitor for the crown!

 Image

Tell us about yourself.

Carly Everett, 24 yrs, business development manager – I have been in sales for about 3.5 years now, recently shifting companies. In between my two sales jobs I was full time modelling for about 6 months. Even though I loved full time modelling, I thought it would be best at this stage of my life to work FT and do modelling part time! I grew up in Camden (South west Sydney) and still live in the area. I love my friends and family more than anything, and I spend most of my weekends with them!

 

What is your motivation in joining this competition?

I basically entered the competition to gain confidence. Modelling, and the Miss Australia Pageant has definitely given me the confidence I needed to feel more secure about myself, and more comfortable about public speaking!

 

What do you know about Miss Universe Australia?

I know that the Miss Universe pageants are recognised all over the world, and is a competition based on beauty, intellect and the ability to hold yourself well in public. The Miss Universe Australia Pageant, I feel, has always had a positive reception within the country, and the previous winners have definitely been role models for girls competing in the competition.

 

Are pageants still relevant in this day and age?

I know there are many opinions about ‘beauty pageants’ these days, and I cant say for sure that they are ‘relevant’ as such, however what competition is actually relevant? To me it’s about being a part of something you take pride in and enjoy! If you come out of it with a bit more confidence, and a few new friends, I think those experiences are very relevant.

 

Apart from the crown, what do you hope to gain from this experience?

I hope to gain more confidence in public speaking and hopefully meet new people, and contacts in the industry. Even from competing in the NSW preliminarries, the Miss Australia pageant opened many doors for me as I met photographers, bloggers etc that I have done work for and keep in contact with, and also made new friends in the other contestants.

 

Who are your role models?

I know it very cliche, however I would say my mother. My mother is the most selfless, perfect person I have ever known. I take all my advice from her, and she always tells me if I am right or wrong which I have been very grateful for! You need someone in you life that is always going to be up front and honest with you, as you may find yourself in a situation where you are possibly being laughed at or judged. On the other end of the scale, another role model of mine is actually Beyonce. (Yes I am 24, not 12 haha) Mainly as she is so talented and always goes after what she wants, and make sher dreams come to life. I think you can draw a lot of inspiration from someone like Beyonce, not only as she is a master of all talents, however she is still down to earth, achieves so many goals in her life.

 

Tell me something interesting aboutyourself.

I was actually hit by a car when I was 12 years old (second week of high school!), fracturing two parts of my skull, breaking my arm, ankle amongst other bruising etc. I was in hospital for a week and off school for a couple of weeks, although as I was young and healthy, recovered from this type of accident relatively quickly! It forced me to take a break from dancing, swimming and running that I was frquently active in. I guess it made me realise that these things don’t just happen to others, and also, however not straight away, it made me thankful for the things in my life.

 

 

What kind of preparations have undergone for the competition?

At the moment the only preparations I have been doing is going to the gym a couple of times per week, but I imagine that I will have to preare myself for the questions, practice walking and obviously (most importantly haha) find a beautiful evening gown!


