Sunny….yesterday my life was filled with rain. And now here you are. 

Swoon.

Find out how she really learned how to speak English.  And they said cartoons were no good for you.  

Image

Sunny Lungan, 21 years old
Profession: Retail Assistant Manager
Background: Thai mother, Australian father

What is your motivation in joining this competition?
I joined the Miss Universe competition for personal growth and development. I wanted to have a healthy lifestyle as well as making new friends and gaining confidence in public speaking.

Are pageants still relevant in this day and age?
I believe pageants are still relevant in this day and age. It makes women strive to be the best people they can be, inside and out. They devote years to charitable causes so pageants have become about much more than just beauty. That’s something that should never become irrelevant.

Apart from the crown, what do you hope to gain from this experience?
Along with the healthy lifestyle, self confidence, friendships and golfing skills I’ve already gained from this experience, I hope to be able to gain valuable contacts within the fashion industry in order to pursue a career and put my diploma to use!

Who are your role models?
I get inspiration from the people I surround myself with. I find myself walking away from a conversation with a friend thinking how lovely and genuine they are and I hope that people have the same feeling after an encounter with me. I can also relate to the lives and experiences of my friends so we’re all constantly growing and learning together.

Tell me something interesting about yourself.
Somehow, English was my third language and I learnt it by watching cartoon network! In my spare time I love cooking three course meals and painting.

What kind of preparations have you undergone for the competition?
We’ve been really lucky to have our amazing sponsors who support us. We all attended a nutritional workshop hosted by Pilates Fitness Institute, where we learnt how to look after our bodies and maintain a healthy diet. I’ve also been making the most of the boxing sessions at The Ring, which has really helped me get in shape!

