Tags

, ,

Just when we thought we have had our fair share of blonde bombshells Western Australia throws us a couple more to make us rethink our position.  For an 18 year old not only does this young woman give good face but possibly the best interview so far!  Like the oriental stone that she is named after, this young lady is simply precious and we like her a lot!

 Image

Jade Morgan, 18, Perth WA

I was born in Adelaide and spent most my life living in a small mining town called Paraburdoo. I love the beach as well as camping and being outdoors. Upon completing a stressful final year of high school, I have successfully attained entrance to UWA in 2013 to study a Bachelor of Commerce. I have taken 2012 as a year to pursue my hopes and dreams, by taking every opportunity I am given; seeing the world and striving towards my goals.

What is your motivation in joining this competition?

Ever since I was a young girl I use to always watch the Miss Universe Pageant year after year, always admiring the beautiful women both inside and out all striving towards success. To be honest not until August last year when I was lucky enough to spend a trip with Scherri-Lee Biggs to Bali, did I ever seriously consider myself as a contestant in the 2012 Miss Universe WA. When I began to learn what an incredibly down-to-Earth and inspirational person Scherri was, she became my ultimate motivation to take this opportunity into becoming the best woman that I can be.

Image

 

What do you know about Miss Universe Australia?

I know that it is a Pageant designed to allow women all around Australia to show just how beautiful they are as well as displaying their knowledge and intelligence. It is a test of a women’s determination, commitment and aspiration to success. It allows women the opportunity to be the best that they can be and set an example to society, whilst also supporting many different charities around the world such as Toybox International; an opportunity that is too good to not make the most of.

Are pageants still relevant in this day and age?

I think that Pageants are more relevant today than ever before. In a world swarmed by media we need to look no further than a click of a button or a turn of a page, things that are constantly used by society day by day, which in turn has developed a world that has become heavily affected by role models. This pageant in particular has provided much more than just a beauty queen for young girls to admire. It has provided a role model that has respect for the person she really is on the inside, not just someone who is easy on the eyes. More so someone with a kind and caring heart who supports things such as charities, worldwide issues and other women to reach their full potential; someone that young girls can really look up to.

Apart from the crown, what do you hope to gain from this experience?

I have already gained qualities from this experience that I will use for the rest of my life. Personally I know myself that I was no where near as good a public speaker as what I am today. My confidence in myself in attaining my goals and pursuing my dreams has proven to me that the sky really is the limit and that I should do whatever I can in my life to make the most of it. I have met a lot of incredible people along the way and I hope that I can continue this wonderful journey that my life has taken.

Who are your role models?

My role models would definitely have to be my family and especially my mum and dad. They have watched me grow over the years and without them I wouldn’t be the person that I am today. Both of my parents are very successful people, being apart of a family full of happiness and love. Even though we have travelled around Australia for my dads work, having to adjust to different environments we have always stuck together and have made a strong bond between our family that we all form today.

Tell me something interesting about yourself.

I am crazy about sports! Ever since I was little I have been playing every sport possible; hockey, basketball, netball, swimming and tennis were all played at once I honestly don’t know how my parents and myself kept up with it all. One of my greatest achievements in sports would have to be that in 2005 I broke the Pilbara swimming record for 11 and under 100m breaststroke as well as getting into the regional team for netball WA.

 

What kind of preparations have you gone through for the competition?

Throughout my entire journey in the competition, Miss Universe WA has set up an amazing program allowing me to perform my best. Nutritional classes, boxing at the Hurt Locker as well as pilates at Pilates Fitness Institute have prepared me for each and every stage of the competition. Meeting inspirational people along the way as well the support from my family and friends has more than helped me. Whether its constructive criticism or constant support I would be lying if I said that I could’ve got this far all on my own.

 

