Just when you thought Perth may have the competition in the bag, Queensland serves up another stunner, upping the competition.  The weekend we posted pictures of the Brisbane finals, this girl became the talk of the town! It took us a couple of days to track her down but we finally found her!  Get to know this stunner a little bit better…

Image

Teagan Downey, 20 years old, Ipswich, Queensland. I am part Sicilian and work For Ray White Real Estate in my hometown of Ipswich.

What is your motivation in joining this competition?

One of the reasons I joined this competition is that at the start of this year I set myself 2 new years resolutions, one was to create a facebook account (which I still haven’t done, how slack!) and the second one was to participate in something that really put me out of my comfort zone. My personal trainer suggested to me that I should apply for Miss Universe Australia 2012. This idea appealed to me as I liked the idea of not only increasing my confidence and life experience but also having an opportunity to express my views and be a part of an organisation that seeks to make a positive impact on other people.  The fact that this is a competition not just based on beauty but also on intelligence, good manners and culture is a really important factor.

What do you know about Miss Universe Australia?

I understand that Miss Universe Australia is an annual beauty pageant where one young lady is picked to represent Australia at the international Miss Universe competition. So far I believe there have only been 2 Australian winners of the Miss Universe pageant, one of course being the beautiful Jennifer Hawkins.

Are pageants still relevant in this day and age?

Absolutely! Pageants are an excellent opportunity and forum to express yourself to a wider audience.  Pageants are no longer seen as just beauty contests but as a means of expression of self in terms of culture, ideals, beauty, healthy body image all in a public format. This exposure can lead to exciting opportunities, business prospects and community involvement which I see as very relevant and positive in any day and age.

Apart from the crown, what do you hope to gain from this experience?

As well as seeing this as a ‘learning’ opportunity as I have never had any modelling experience before, I’m also wanting to enjoy the whole experience and have fun meeting and working with other people and organisations.  It’s all new to me, which leads me to believe I will grow as a person and take away many new experiences. I’ve already made some great friends and am enjoying the journey so far.  I’m excited about and looking forward to the next stage of the competition which is going to be held at the Gold Coast.

Image

Who are your role models?
Now…I know everyone says this, but it is honestly so true, My Parents Lisa & Steve. They both on their own successful business’s and have such great work ethics which I believe they have instilled in me for the rest of my life.

Tell me something interesting about yourself

I have always been passionate about the treatment of animals and their well being. I have been a vegetarian since I was 15 years old and I have recently adopted two GORGEOUS pugs who came from a rescue organisation called ‘Pug Rescue’.

What kind of preparations have you gone through for the competition?

I believe that success a lot to do with discipline and routine. As part of my preparation I exercise and eat a wide range of nutritious food to stay fit, energised and healthy.  I enjoy walking in the mornings or doing some cardio or resistance training in the gym.  There is quite a bit of food preparation in eating a clean healthy diet which consists of eating 2-3 hours but I’ve learnt to enjoy it and now it’s part of my lifestyle. I feel this helped me confidently put forward a healthy toned body.  Watching videos on the net has been one of the sources of education for throughout this preparation, as I can watch previous Miss Universe competitions in order to learn and perfect my stage presence and tackle the infamous question and answer section!  

