Dear Pageant Girl,

It’s been a while since our last Stunner Alert but I’m sure that this latest one is sure to tickle your fancy.

Beauty queens are made, not born.  You can’t win by just being a pretty face.  Or can you?

Have you ever wondered what goes into the making of a beauty queen? Many of you will remember Michael Caine’s character in Miss Congeniality.  Remember that scene where they take Sandra Bullock to the airport hangar for her overnight transformation?  Well it may be a tad exaggerated but in many cases, it’s not far from the reality.

Hailing from the Sunshine State, Queensland, Australia I am very excited and extremely proud to introduce you to Dear Pageant Girl Queensland, Amasone (Charlie) Palupe!

Image

Yes, Dear Pageant Girl Queensland is represented by this gorgeous man – one of the most knowledgeable, stylish and classiest men I have ever met in the pageant industry.  His commentaries, insights and predictions for various pageants never cease to amaze me (not to mention his Tyra Banks ability to look good IN ALL PHOTOS).  

Amasone (or Sone / Charlie as many of us know him by) was instrumental in assisting many of the Miss Universe Australia Queensland entrants in 2011 (many of which successfully placed in the nationals).  And yes, he’s a rugby fan. *gasp*

Sone first caught my eye with his expert commentary on previous Miss Universe Australia contestants and winners and I have been following him for a while, waiting for the right moment to pounce.  I am happy to announce that as of late 2011, after many meetings post Miss Universe Australia 2011 crowning, Dear Pageant Girl Queensland was established and I can’t think of anyone better to represent my brand than this amazing human being.

Image

Get to know this complex character a little better by reading his sassy interview below:

Tell me about Amasone.

Long story short; Early 80s…warm Polynesian summer nights…ruffled coconuts…out came Amasone.

Amasone is about family, pageants and politics. Oh, and Rugby, obviously for the skilful talents of the players and nothing to do with their other ‘talents’.

How did you get into the world of pageants?

You know that thing when you see someone cute and he smiles and your heart kind of goes like warm butter sliding down hot toast? Well that’s what it’s like when I see a beauty pageant. ONLY IT’S BETTER! 

My earliest memory was watching a Miss South Pacific Pageant parade in the Samoan capital Apia. I’m unsure what year it was, but I was swept off my feet. I have since followed pageants religiously.

What is it that you love about the whole beauty pageant industry?

I couldn’t pick out any particular aspect; however as an industry, I have met some inspirational people from all walks of life at various pageant events throughout Australia. These are individuals who work in different industries but share a common interest in ‘beauty pageants’. On the actual pageant itself, it is always refreshing to witness the progress of a delegate who grows in confidence to win the judges’ final vote and completely blindside the favourites.

What makes you a qualified DPG staffer?

I have an extensive understanding of the Australian pageant industry’s key decision makers, creative stakeholders, and overall brand direction. I am a seasoned judge on national pageant panels. This has given me a greater appreciation of how years/months/days of preparations by a contestant is captured in 30 seconds through the eyes of judge. I have trained and mentored many former contestants who have gone on to be very successful in their chosen careers. I also have over 20 years of experience in analysing trends and developments of international pageants, especially the Miss Universe Pageant.

Tell me about your role models.

I’m blessed to be brought up in a large Samoan family of 10 brothers and sisters. As the ninth child, I have learned so much from their diverse personalities and approaches to life.

In all things pageantry, my diva sister from another mister SERENO has been the perfect role model. In our story, Ursula and Ariel are besties. (Note from DPG HQ: YOU’RE HIRED!)

Who is your favorite beauty queen?

She lost the Miss USA 1996 crown but won 1 million US dollars, I’d have to say Danni Boatwright. She placed 3rd at Miss Teen USA 1990, 2nd at Miss USA 1996, but won Survivor: Guatemala 2005.

Do you think beauty pageants have relevance in today’s society?

Yes but to varying degrees. Its relevance will vary across different countries/communities. For example, in Australia, recent winners have gone on to careers in the fashion and entertainment industries but I’d struggle to say they are considered role models to the greater female population. Yet, in other parts of the world, like Venezuela and Philippines (to name a few), beside instant celebrity, winners are seen as real life role models beyond the actual beauty industry. 

What is your philosophy in life?

One day your life will flash before your eyes. Make sure it’s worth watching.

 

What is the best piece of advice you can give a budding beauty queen?

No-one remembers the first runner-up.

What special skills do you bring to Dear Pageant Girl?

I can provide advice and guidance specifically for pageants in the following areas:

  • Styling and makeovers
  • Runway and stage projection
  • Pageant on and offstage etiquette
  • On-stage interview techniques
  • PR and Publicity
  • Fitness and beauty services

So calling out to all you future Sisters of the Sash, if you would like to get in touch with Sone, get in early – he’s the accessory du jour during your campaign for the crown.

