Tags

, , , , ,

Dear Pageant Girl,

The pageant experience is like having bipolar – it can take you through extreme highs and devastating lows.  For the majority of girls competing as well as their family and friends heartbreak is inevitable. But pageants also deliver inexplicable results.  Case in point Shadae Magson in 2010 and Amber Greasley in 2011.

A couple of weeks ago I had the pleasure of judging at the Miss Universe Australia 2011 Victoria Metropolitan heats at Caulfield Racecourse.  On the panel with me was stylist Amber Renae and Miss Universe Australia Director Deborah Miller.

In this instance I was the one that ended up having my heart broken.  Whenever this stunner was on stage I could not get my eyes off her.  The girl had that elusive X Factor and to be honest, did not have to try too hard to be noticed.

Imagine my shock when her name was not called out as one of the finalists.  Shock which then turned to anger as I saw lesser women make it through ahead of her.

The good news is, Dear Pageant Girl has managed to track down this stunner for an interview.  Keep an eye out for this one – we are predicting big things for this girl!

Image

 

Tell us about yourself.  Name, Age, Where are you from, what do you do for work / are you studying?

Dear Pageant Girl, my name is Gabrielle Feller, I am 22 years young and I am from Melbourne. I currently work for Beam Global as a Promotional Model and have recently graduated from University in Events Management.

 

What is your motivation in joining pageants?

I have always dreamt of becoming a Victoria’s Secret Angel! So when I graduated I decided it was time to stop dreaming it, and start living it. So here I am!

 

What do you know about the pageant industry in Australia?

I feel there is now such a demand for Australian beauties to become more involved in international pageants, especially after Jen Hawkins taking home the crown in 2004. So our knowledge and thirst for pageants has grown.

 

Which pageant are you most familiar with?

Miss Universe & Miss World.

 

How did you feel when your name was not called out as one of the Victorian Finalists for Miss Universe Australia?

Frozen. I really gave it my all and can confidently say that I would not have changed a thing I did on the day. So although I was feeling disappointed, there was also a sense of pride I felt.

 

Are pageants still relevant in this day and age?

I don’t see why not? These days’ women are becoming more and more equal to men, which shows how empowering we have become. But with this gain, we have not lost our true beauty, which I feel pageants help us in expressing.

 

Apart from the crown, what do you hope to gain from this experience?

I hope to gain the support from women in this industry who can help to guide me through what I wish to be a long and successful journey in modeling.

 

Who are your role models?

My three older sisters, who have been my mentors through every unexpected obstacle life throws at me. Without them I would not be the person I am today.

 

Image

Tell me something interesting about yourself.

I was born on Australia Day, so it is only fitting that I become crowned a Miss Australia pageant queen


What kind of preparations have you gone through for these competitions?

Keeping fit, healthy and getting plenty of rest! I have also been drinking lots of herbal tea too.

 

What is next for you, Gabrielle?

Hopefully the crown!

But if not, you won’t be seeing the last of me. I am determined to show Australia what I’ve got.

