Tags

,

Just when I thought the beauties selected from the major metros had little use or interest in Dear Pageant Girl, in came this stunner like a refreshing breeze. We normally have to approach the beauties but in this case, we were pleasantly surprised to have someone we have had our eye on come to us first!

Mary V contacted DPG and shared with us her gorgeous pictures and asked if she would be good enough to belong in the Stunner Alert Hall of Fame.

Our answer was a resounding yes!

Such enthusiasm, ambition and dedication from someone so young.

We expect this tall drink of water to make waves on finals night!

Tell us about yourself. Name, age. where you are from. what do you do for work, are you studying?

Hi Dear Pageant Girl, my name is Mary Vitinaros, I am 19 years old and was born and raised in Melbourne.  I am currently in the midst of an Accounting degree and work part time at Ambulance Victoria.

What is your motivation in joining pageants?

Miss Universe Australia is a pageant I have watched since I was a young girl and have always aspired to be part of the magnificent event.  As I got older I realized that the pageant was not just about being beautiful, but it was about being a confident, well-spoken, young woman that can make a difference in the world.  I feel that the title-holder of Miss Universe Australia comes with great responsibility, the opportunity to help people and to be a great role model for all Australians.  This is what has motivated me to join this pageant, as I know that I would be able to fulfill all these requirements and duties.

What do you know about the pageant industry in Australia?

As this is the first pageant I have ever entered, I feel that I am very new to the pageant industry in Australia.  However I have been conducting a lot of my own research and trying to gain as much knowledge as possible in order to fully understand what is involved and what is required.  To date, my experience in the pageant industry has been extremely positive.  There is so much work that goes on behind the scenes, a lot of extensive preparation the girls go through and wonderful work and events that are held in order to raise money and awareness for charities.  I think it is great and that everyone involved to should be commended for the endless hours of preparation that are involved in these events.

Which pageant are you most familiar with?

The pageant I am most familiar with would have to be Miss Universe Australia and that is why I have entered it.  I feel it is a pageant that I could contribute most to and make a difference if given the opportunity.

Are pageants still relevant in this day and age?

Over the years pageants have come a long way, and I do believe that they are still relevant in this day and age.  It is no longer purely a bikini contest; beauty pageants are about being beautiful on the inside and radiating that inner beauty to the outside.  I feel it is important to be an intelligent, level headed, compassionate and approachable role model for others.  Beauty pageants have also shown to be a platform to successful media careers, which has been evident through previous titleholders who have still been able to promote awareness for various charities.

Apart from the crown, what do you hope to gain from this experience?

There is so much I have already gained from being involved in this pageant.  I have learnt that if you want to achieve something in life it is important to be proactive and provide yourself with as much knowledge as possible, preparation is extremely important.  Confidence is key; it is essential that you are confident within yourself and what you stand for.  I have also become more aware about what can be done to help others who lead less fortunate lives.  Through this experience I have also met many new wonderful people and made some great friends, hopefully I am fortunate enough to continue this journey.

Who are your role models?

There are so many inspiring people throughout the world who have and still are achieving many great things.  This makes it difficult to have just one role model, however I try to draw upon the different strengths of all these people so that I can learn and grow to be an even better person myself.

Tell us something interesting about yourself?

I come from a very sporty background.  When I was younger I used to attend a tennis academy and train at least twenty-five hours a week.  I was fortunate enough to compete in tournaments around Australia and as a result had an Australian ranking.  I am a very competitive person by nature and I feel that this has helped me throughout the competition, as I know what training should involve and that you only get out what you put in.

What kind of preparations have you gone through for this competition?

In order to prepare for the Miss Universe Australia National Finals I have been living and breathing pageant.  This is a competition that is very important to me and I have been taking very seriously.  After receiving some constructive criticism, which I really appreciated, I have been working on bettering certain aspects of myself.  I have been exercising on a regular basis, engaging in different activities such as tennis, jogging, walking and yoga.  I have also been ensuring that I eat healthy, drink plenty of water and get a good night sleep.  For me working on questions I felt was most important and have been seeing the ambassador for Education for public speaking lessons and answering questions daily. I have also been trying to keep updated with current affairs and the news.

What is next for you, Mary?

Well hopefully I will be preparing for Miss Universe haha!

