Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Dear Pageant Girl,

Drum roll please

WE HAVE OUR FIRST EVER STUNNER ALERT FROM THE MAROON STATE!

Beauty and brains, this pocket rocket of a stunner is driven and a real go getter. Her intelligence and beauty captivated us at the QLD MUA Finals and many who attended the event even went so far as to say that this girl was the face of the competition.

Sure, she’s not the tallest but she’s beautiful and a brunette (HELLO? OLIVIA CULPO! XIMENA NAVARRETE! ERIN BRADY!)

The moment this girl opens her mouth you know she’s ready to wipe the floor with the other girls.  So watch out ladies – a beauty breeze is blowing from the north and it’s building up to be a stunner cyclone!

Watch out for this one……

Presenting, Courtney Thorpe

courtneyHERO

Tell me about yourself?

Out of all the hard hitting questions I have been asked during Miss Universe so far, I always struggle with this one! I was born and raised in Brisbane and lived with my parents and younger brother until recently when I moved out, because I am all grown up now! I am a big family girl, they really are my best friends. I am a styling teacher and the head of the styling department at the Australian Institute of Creative Design, the Fashion Editor at GCMAG, the Event Coordinator and Style Director of International Fashion Week, a Model and Teacher at Katz Management, and I am studying a Bachelor of Communications. I am also in the process of starting my own business, so needless to say I don’t have much of a social life!

What made you join this competition?

One of my friends suggested that I enter a few years ago. I was too nervous to actually do it at the time, but the thought was always in the back of my mind. I had just come out of a pretty awful relationship when I finally decided to enter because I wanted to do something to celebrate myself, after months of being called fat and being told to change everything about myself! I never imagined that it would be such an incredible experience and I would make some of the best friends!

courtneybikini

What are the advantages of being beautiful?

To answer that question, I think I should firstly define what I consider to be beautiful. I think being truly comfortable with who you are, both on the outside and the inside, caring about others, and focusing first and foremost on being a good person on the inside, encapsulates true beauty. So to answer the question, the advantage of being beautiful is that you have the ability to be an inspiration, to make positive impacts on others’ lives, and as a result live a happy and fulfilling life.

What gets you further in life – book smart or street smart?

I am a big advocate of being well educated. As Oscar Wilde said “you can never be overdressed or overeducated.” But I do think book smarts and street smarts go hand in hand, one without the other is like a day without chocolate, just not as productive!

courtney

How do you define love?

Love is undefinable. It’s like the wind. Sometimes it can be soft and gentle, then it can be overpowering and scary, all in the same day! We know the wind is there, we can feel it, we can see things being effected it by it, but you can’t actually see the wind or where it has come from. And sometimes as quickly as it comes, it can disappear again. I think that is the best possible way I can explain love, but to define it is impossible.

Tell us about the most beautiful place you have visited in Australia?

My all-time favourite place in Australia is Melbourne, when I am in Melbourne I feel like I could be anywhere in the world. Plus the shopping isn’t bad either!

courtney6

What are you doing now to prepare for Miss Universe Australia?

At this stage, with a month to go until the finals, I am exercising every day, seeing my personal trainer twice a week, and following an eating plan (which I have tweaked a little tiny bit to include chocolate once a day…It’s an addiction, I can’t help it).

What’s the worse pick up line you have ever heard?

Not to be boring, but I can’t actually think of an instance that I have been fed a bad pick up line. I just called my best friend to see if she could think of any, but other than a hypothetical “How much does a polar bear weigh? Enough to break the ice…” I honestly can’t remember ever hearing one!

courtney8

What advise will you give Australian men when dating Australian women?

I read a quote the other day that is perfect for this answer (my photo album on my phone is filled with quotes I steal from people posting them on facebook!).

“A boy asked his mum, how will I be able to find the right woman for me? The mum answered, don’t worry about finding the right woman, concentrate on becoming the right man.

So I suggest, to become the right man, and in turn find the right woman, you should: love them for who they are, respect them, be loyal, be honest, be caring. Look, to put it simply, just be genuinely nice!

Who makes better political leaders? Men or women?

I don’t think that is a question that can be based on gender. It should be who makes a better political leader, Person A or Person B? Otherwise we would be comparing stereotypical traits of men and women which may or may not relate to the people in question. Besides we shouldn’t be voting for the person leading a political party, we should be voting for the party that we believe has the right values and attitudes and will run our country in the best way possible, regardless of the gender of the leader.

courtneySWIM

How are pageants different from modeling?

I have been modeling for years and I now even teach modeling courses at my agency. One of the first rules I was ever taught, and one of the first that I teach now, is that when you are modeling you are essentially taking on a character, you aren’t you anymore, you are whoever the client wants you to be. In pageants, however, you get to be yourself, and that is what the judges want to see.

Have you looked at the competition? Who do you think your biggest competition is?

I have been following all the updates on Dear Pageant Girl about the other state finalists, and I know my fellow Queensland finalists, but it is really hard to tell from face value. Of course all the finalists are gorgeous, but as we know, it is about a lot more than that. I don’t think I will be able to answer that until I am down in Melbourne with all the girls.

courtneyHERO1

Who is your favorite Miss Universe Australia and why?

Jennifer Hawkins. I know everyone must say that, but of course she is our biggest inspiration in the pageant world, she won Miss Universe after all! I also really admire how well she used that opportunity to really make a name for herself in both the modeling industry and in business.

How do you make a difference?

As I mentioned earlier one of my several jobs is teaching modeling courses at Katz Management, my agency. Despite what most people think, it isn’t just about teaching girls how to walk or pose. We teach them to accept themselves for who they are, how to be comfortable in their own skin, encourage them to strive to be better people, how to create and achieve life goals (beyond modeling), amongst many other character building traits. I think this is how I am making the biggest difference at the moment. No, I’m not flying over to Africa to build homes, or organising big charity functions, but if I can make one little girl or woman feel good about who she is, then I couldn’t ask for anything more.

sparkle sparkle!

sparkle sparkle!

How do you want to be remembered?

For being me. For staying true to my thoughts, values, morals and beliefs. For staying true to who I am, even if somebody else doesn’t like it! As Dr Suess wrote, (yes I am aware I am quoting a children’s book…but it was my favourite) “today you are you, that’s truer than true, there is no one alive that is youer than you.”

courtney7

