Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Dear Pageant Girl

It’s nice to see the Maroon State raising the bar this year.  For years QLD has been the home of many of our pageant stars.  But for a few years QLD seems to have decided to rest on its laurels (perhaps to give the other states a chance to win the crown?)

This year QLD is back and they are back with a vengeance.  This year they have their own killer blonde. A beauty with the face of an angel and a killer body.  Perhaps a super model in the making?

You tell us.

Presenting – Selene Coase.

selene3

 

Tell me about yourself?

My full name is Selene Felix Coase and I am a 20 year old student from North Queensland. I am currently living in Brisbane and studying a fashion marketing degree. I am a Queensland girl born and bred and I love beaches, the sun and meeting new people from all around the world. The highlight of my life so far was completing a year overseas in South America where I studied Spanish.

What made you join this competition?

I was motivated to join this competition to challenge myself and I’m a firm believer of taking advantage of every opportunity offered to me. It defiantly has challenged me – making me become more aware of national and international events and issues, public speaking and having a healthy body and mind.

selene8 

What are the advantages of being beautiful?

I truly believe that beauty is only definable to the individual – the old adage sums it up perfectly “beauty is in the eye of the beholder” The advantages of beauty are undeniable – humans are very visual creatures. Being beautiful is advantageous as it opens up many amazing opportunities in life but I also believe beauty alone can only take you so far – you need a personality, intelligence and the elusive x-factor.

What gets you further in life – book smart or street smart?

I believe that a combination of the two – being well read and aware of the history and monumental amount of knowledge out there is something that will help you achieve your goals in life. But on the other hand street smart is something influenced by the people you know and that you learn from life experiences. Both are equally valuable.

selene1

How do you define love?

Simply as a pure, honest feeling free from pain and regret.

Tell us about the most beautiful place you have visited in Australia?

The most beautiful place in Australia I have visited hands down would have to the stunning Great Barrier Reef. Growing up in North Queensland and having this amazing coral reef on my doorstep is something I am so grateful for. Pollution and Coral Bleaching is an issue I support and hope to raise awareness for.

What are you doing now to prepare for Miss Universe Australia?

To prepare i am training my body and mind – I am doing lots of research and seeking advice from past contestants. The National Finals are less than a month away and I am so excited to meet all the contestants.

selene body

What’s the worse pick up line you have ever heard?

I have heard some horrors unfortunately! – Men can be quite sweet with their pickup lines and I think when they are genuinely trying to compliment you pickup lines can be very effective. The worst I have heard is; “I bet your mum is a babe” A bit inappropriate but it defiantly made me laugh.

What advice will you give Australian men when dating Australian women?

The advice I would give to all men out there – is to have respect for women. Deep down we all want a prince charming to gallop up and sweep us off our feet. Be confident, funny and sweet. These are all musts in my checklist for a potential partner.

selene6

Who makes better political leaders? Men or women?

Gender in politic should not be an issue. Men and Women should be treated equally and judged for their actions and moral standing in the political world not their gender.

How are pageants different from modeling?

I am quite new to the modeling world but the little modeling I have done has been completely different to the Miss Universe competition. Modeling is being a blank canvas and selling a product. In the Miss Universe pageant the product is yourself. It lets the contestants display their own unique personality and individuality which is an amazing opportunity to present yourself to Australia and the world.

selene2

Have you looked at the competition? Who do you think your biggest competition is?

I have looked at the competition and there are so many accomplished, beautiful women competing this year. It’s very daunting and impressive – I could not pick a singular person as all the women competing are amazing.

Who is your favorite Miss Universe Australia and why?

This is probably the hardest question so far – One of the reasons I am so proud to be a participant in this competition is the caliber of the past winners. Miss Universe Australia has found and supported so many amazing women to achieve their dreams and I admire them all. They are the reason so many women from around Australia enter Miss Universe Australia.

selene7

How do you make a difference?

By using every opportunity to make the right choices in this world. I am currently in training for a Charity Marathon supporting my Grandfather who is in advanced stage of Alzheimer – I am supporting and raising money for the Alzheimer’s Australia (Qld) foundation and hope to make a difference in the lives of people suffering from Alzheimer’s.

selene5

