Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Dear Pageant Girl,

Every now and then we stumble upon an undiscovered diamond in the rough.  One of these diamonds is the lady that we are about to profile.  Hailing from Queensland, I got an excited phone call from Sone, DPG QLD raving about the girl whom we shall entitle The Second Coming of Rachael Finch.

And yes, she does bear an uncanny resemblance.

Coming out of nowhere, this young lady is a pageant neophyte…and we love a fast learner.  Keen and green she was locked out of the QLD State Finals for Miss Universe Australia and is now trying her luck at Miss World Australia.

And we are very happy that she is.  We look forward to watching her grow and if her photos are anything to go by, all we can say is fasten your seatbelts – we have a pageant mover and shaker in the making right here.

Introducing, Ryan Lissane Price

ryangown

Tell me about yourself.

It’s hard not to feel conceited when you’re asked to describe yourself but here goes… My full name is Ryan Lissanne Hineka Price and I’m of Maori, German and English descent. I was born and raised in the beautiful city of Perth and graduated from Penrhos College in 2008. After a year in the work force, and being the ‘persistent’ independent person I am, I packed my bags and relocated to sunny Queensland in 2009 – despite my family’s best efforts to keep me in their sight. They are the most amazing supportive family I could have been gifted with and regardless of the distance, we are closer than ever. I’m currently working as a fulltime paralegal in the area of family and criminal defence law, and I’ve recently completed my studies for an advanced diploma in Project Management. During my younger years I held an intense passion for hunger problems around the world and was an ambassador for World Vision projects, particularly the ‘Stand up, Stir it up Project’. I also love keeping my body healthy and fit through daily exercise and new foods!

What made you join this competition?

I think confidence was an important factor in entering the pageant scene this year. As a teenager I was bullied a lot and didn’t quite fit in, but for the Miss World pageant, I think the charity aspect was a real incentive for me to get back into fundraising and charity events. It’s such a rewarding experience knowing you’re putting in the extra effort to contribute to charities that operate on voluntary funding.

ryanpink

What makes Miss World different from other pageants?

In my opinion, Miss World truly embraces the ‘beauty with a purpose’ concept, but in saying that I really am an apprentice pageant girl! I think Jessica Kahawaty explained it perfectly last year. Miss World really does take a holistic approach to choosing it’s winner. The entire process is completely different to any of the other pageants and I really admire the fact that the panel wants to get to know you in person. It’s not about who you know or what you do for a living. Who you are on the inside really does count with Miss World which I think is wonderful.

Define Beauty with a Purpose.

Being physically attractive is one thing, but to embrace the body you’ve been gifted with and succeed in having a beautiful soul is another. Miss World gives young women the chance to show their commitment to making a difference in their communities and helping those less fortunate, be it aiding a worthy cause in a big or small way. It’s the effort that counts. I think every contestant would love to be recognized for their efforts in being the best person they can be and essentially be given the opportunity and resources to contribute to society on a more physically involved level as opposed to the fundraising side of things.

ryanbw

How do you define love?

Love or to be in love? Everybody is different and I always say “each to their own”, but to me… Love is passion. When you have a passion for something or someone, everything around you just seems to work and in itself creates a balance in life. It’s a continuous desire to succeed in an interest or to thrive in a relationship.

Tell us about the most beautiful place you have visited in Australia?

Turquoise Bay in Exmouth! Absolutely breathtaking, words cannot describe the underwater activity of this place! When I was younger my dad took us on holiday to Exmouth and we made the day and a half drive up towards Ningaloo Reef from Perth. It’s a 300m long reef which you enter at the car park end and let the drift take you over the amazing sea life, but don’t forget to come in at the sand bar or you’ll be taken out to what’s known to be the Tiger Shark breeding area. Brings back some great memories!

ryanbikink

What are you doing now to prepare for Miss World Australia?

I lead a pretty active and healthy lifestyle but when it comes to the physical aspect in preparing for an event like this I’ll be tightening the reins on the indulgence side of things which will help give me that added confidence in Melbourne next month. As a pageant novice I’ve done my fair share of pageant research… Enough to accommodate every finalist I think! Not to mention viewing countless question and answer fails!!

What’s your favourite dish?

Ahh… food glorious food…Where do I start? When it comes to indulgences, a hamper of carbs and sugar will do me just fine. Food for thought though…if you ever need a favour, hand me a slice of hot apple crumble with a side of vanilla ice-cream and I’ll be at your beck and call!

ryanjacket

How would you convince anti pageant fans that beauty contests are not degrading to women?

My eldest brother, Adam, was an anti-pageant fan from the day he found out I was competing this year. I asked him to take the time to listen to some of the questions the women get asked. He assumed the girls just parade around on stage and made the comparison of the pageant industry to legally blonde. He is going to kill me for saying this! As for the rest of the anti pageant fans, I used to be so uncomfortable with public speaking, wearing a bikini and being judged for face value. Beauty contests like Miss World have helped me to be more confident in who I am and to also create my own presence whether that be on stage or not.

What advice would you give young women who want to enter pageants?

Try and try again. Now I know for a fact this sounds cliché but for me it’s honestly not about winning, I entered for the experience. You’re exposed to a completely different world when you enter the pageant scene and I love it. The only personal advice I can give from my very recent experience, is pick your pageants wisely, research what pageant/s you think you would be most suited to and really take the time to be honest with yourself in what or who you want to represent and be remembered for. At the end of the day, if you’re doing it to gain confidence and you’re an opportunist like myself – be yourself, you have nothing to lose.

ryanwhite

How are pageants different from modelling?

Everyone is certainly going to have a different opinion on this. I think it depends on the job itself when it comes to modelling. With modelling, you’re given the opportunity to take on a different personality and have that character show through the photograph. For me, when it came to my first pageant, I liked the feeling of being vulnerable to the panel of judges. It’s very ‘raw’ and you really are judged on who you are right then and there for not just your looks but on your disposition and character.

Have you looked at the competition? Who do you think your biggest competition is?

Of course I have! I haven’t had time to go through with a fine toothed comb but I’ll get there haha. Every contestant that’s had experience in the modelling or pageant industry is big competition in my eyes because they have that stage presence and extra confidence. I’ve had a few girls add me on facebook and instagram since the finalists were announced and publicized yesterday and from what I’ve seen, all the girls are absolute glamours… So good luck to the judges!

ryanpro

Who is your favourite Miss World and why?

Just when I thought they couldn’t get any better, Jessica Kahawaty came in and was crowned last year. She’s definitely set the bar high for the rest of us. When she speaks she has such an honest and pure presence and she really embodies everything that our Miss World Australia should represent. She’s humble, gracious, generous and indescribably gorgeous. Last years’ contestants were stunning, but for me she was a clear winner as an overall package.

Why should you be chosen to be the next Miss World Australia?

I would love to be given the opportunity to embrace the title of Miss World Australia and focus on the charity aspect of what holding the crown entails. Being able to visit those countries and meet the people that have benefit from my past fundraising efforts would be an honour and a dream come true. Being Miss World Australia would give me the chance to focus on improving the lives of people less fortunate, that in itself would be extremely rewarding. Jessica’s shoes are going to be very hard to fill for anyone that takes the crown this year.

How do you want to be remembered?

I’d love to be remembered as the girl that came in, fresh on the scene and made an impact. I’m just me. I’m always going to give 100% and be the best person I can be. I can only hope that it’s what you are looking for and that you all see me for the person I am. An uncontrollably happy, loving and passionate soul.

ryanbw1

