Tags

, ,

WA continues its assault with the one and only Sophia – another dusky beauty…..

Sophia Flynn, 21 years old
Commerce graduate currently working in my family’s Medical Practice as a medical secretary. Raised in Cottesloe, Western Australia.

What is your motivation in joining this competition?
When I finished my degree mid last year, I wanted to do something out of my comfort zone before I committed to pursuing a career. A friend from Uni did extremely well in the Miss Universe WA competition last year and encouraged me to enter, so here I am!

What do you know about Miss Universe Australia?
Miss Universe Australia is the national beauty pageant that has launched the careers of Jennifer Hawkins, Rachael Finch, Jesinta Campbell and our own WA winner Scherri-Lee Biggs.

Are pageants still relevant in this day and age?
I think pageants and Miss Universe Australia in particular, are even more relevant in today’s society as the competition focuses on more than beauty alone. Miss Universe Australia provides educated and confident girls a great platform to reach their goals, wether these be professional or personal.

Apart from the crown, what do you hope to gain from this experience?
I feel that I have already gained so much from the Miss Universe experience, particularly meeting new people and making friends with the girls. I’m also really looking forward to workshops with image consultants EGAMI Style, on how to develop confidence and create powerful impressions.

Who are your role models?
I count Fiona Wood, a Western Australian plastic surgeon, as one of my role models for her invention of the spray on skin treatment for burns victims. On top of pioneering this breakthrough treatment, which helped the Bali bombing victims, she is also a mother of six. My other role model is my mum because she always puts everyone else first and has successfully run a family and a business in the most difficult circumstances.

Tell me something interesting about yourself.
Something interesting about me is that I have just completed a Commerce degree with majors in Marketing and Management and a minor in Business Law.

What kind of preparations have you undergone for the competition?
We’ve been lucky enough to have been given boxing and Pilates classes from our sponsors The Ring and The Pilates Fitness Institute, to get us in shape and feeling great. I’ve also been paying more attention to the news and keeping up to date with current affairs both locally and internationally.